IEEE INFOCOM 2006 High-Speed Networking Workshop:

The Terabits Challenge



In Conjunction with IEEE INFOCOM 2006  Barcelona, Spain, April 24 th , 2006

Workshop General Chair

Thomas Ndousse
Office of Science United States Department of Energy (DOE)
Phone: (301)-903-9960
Technical Program Chair
Nasir Ghani 
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Tennessee Tech University Cookeville,
TN 38506 Phone: (931) 372-3046

Technical Program


7:30 – 8:15 a.m.          Registration

8:15 – 8:30 a.m.          Chairs Opening Welcome

8:30 – 10:15 a.m.        Session 1: Optical Networks (Chair: Nagi Rao, Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

· “Highly Dynamic Lightpath Routing Including Physical Restrictions”, D. A.  Schupke, S. Duhovnikov, T. Fischer, G. Lehmann, F. Rambach, M. Schuster (Si e mens)

· “Considerations for Control Planes in High-Capacity, Low-Latency, Optically-Switched Interconnects”, M. Dales, M. Glick, D. McAuley (Intel)

· “Architectures for Fast Reconfigurable IP-Over-WDM Networks”, A. Brzezinski, E. Modiano (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) 

· “Towards a Polymorphous Optical Network”, C. Qiao, State University of New York Buffalo

· “Research on Optical Core Networks in the e-Photon/ONe Network of Excellence”, F. Callegati ( University of Bologna)                                          

· “Hierarchical Inter-Domain Routing in Optical DWDM Networks”, Q. Liu, M. A. Kok, V. M. Muthalaly, M. Wang, N. Ghani ( Tennessee Tech University)                     

· “An Integrated Signaling Framework for Dynamically Provisioning Diverse Granularity EVC Over Optical Layer”, A. Hadjiantonis, M. Ali ( City College of New York), H. Chamas, W. Bjorkman, S. Elby (Verizon), N. Ghani (Tennessee Tech University)

10:15 – 11:15 a.m.      Panel Discussion "Terabit Networks: Challenges & Opportunities"

11:15 – 11:30 a.m.      Coffee/Tea Break

11:30 – 13:15 p.m.      Session 2: End-System Design & Advanced Transport Protocols (Chair: Tom Lehman, USC ISI)

· “End-System Performance Based Transport Adaptation for Data Transfer over Lambda Grids” , A. Banerjee (University of California at Davis), W. Feng (Virginia Tech), B. Mukherjee, D. Ghosal (University of California at Davis)

· “RCP-AC: Congestion Control to Make Flows Complete Quickly in Any Environment”, N. Dukkipati, N. McKeown (Stanford University), A. G. Fraser (Fraser Research)

· “100 Gigabit Ethernet—Applications, Features, Challenges”, M. Duelk, M. Zirngibl, Lucent

· “Dedicated Channels as an Optimal Network Support for Effective Transfer of Massive Data”, S. Gorinsky (Washington University St. Louis), N. S. V. Rao (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

· “TCP Sending Rate Control at Terabits Per Second”, E. Rodríguez-Colina (University of Cambridge), K. A. Williams (Technische Universiteit Eindhoven), A. W. Moore (Queen Mary, University of London), L. B. James, R .V. Penty, I. H. White (University of Cambridge)

· “TCP Internal Buffers Optimization for Fast Long-Distance Links”, A. Baiocchi, S. Mascolo, F. Vacirca (University of Rome)

· “Enabling Ultra-High-Performance Networking to the End-User”, A. Gross, E. Hagley, J. Wen (Acadia Optronics LLC)

13:15 – 14:30 p.m.      Lunch

14:30 – 15:45 p.m.      Session 3: IP Networks & Switch Design (Chair: Pieter Audenaert, Ghent University)

· “Hierarchical Broadcast Ring Architecture for High-speed Ethernet Networks”, H. Jang, H. Kim ( Carnegie Mellon University)

· “Multi-Terabit/s IP Switching with Guaranteed Service for Streaming Traffic”, M. Baldi  (Politecnico Di Torino), Yoram Ofe (Università di Trento)

· “Packet Classification at Ultra High Speeds”, J. Van Lunteren (IBM Zurich)

· “Ethernet Fabric Routing (EFR): A Scalable and Secure Ultrahigh Speed Switching Architecture”, J. Morales Barroso (L&M Data Communications), G. Ibañez Fernandez (Universitat Carlos III Madrid)

· “Parallel Firewall Designs for High-Speed Networks”, E. W. Fulp ( Wake Forest University)

15:45 – 16:30 p.m.      Coffee/Tea Break

16:30 – 18:30 p.m.      Session 4: Grid, Applications, Testbeds (Chair: Erin Fulp, Wake Forest University)

· “Holographic and 3D Teleconferencing and Visualization: Implications for Terabit Networked Applications”, L. Gharai (ISI), C. Perkins ( University of Glasgow)

· “Wide-Area Network Experiments with LambdaStream Over Dedicated High Bandwidth Networks”, V. Vishwanath, J. Leigh, E. He, X. Wang, L. Renambot, A. Verlo, M. D. Brown, T. A. Defanti (University of Illinois Chicago)

· “A Simulated Annealing Heuristic for Advanced Lightpath Reservation in WDM Networks”, T. D. Wallace, A. Shami ( University of Western Ontario )

· “Dynamic and Deterministic Lightpath Scheduling in Next-Generation WDM Optical Networks”, L. Shen, X. Yang, A. Todimala, B. Ramamurthy ( University of Nebraska at Lincoln)

· “Dynamic GMPLS-based Establishment of Bidirectional Connections in All-Optical Networks”, R. Martínez, R. Muñoz (Centre Tecnologic de Telecomunicacions de Catalunya), J. Comellas, G. Junyent ( Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya)

· “Next Generation Optical Scientific Network”, P. Audenaert, S. Verbrugge, L. Depre, D. Colle, I.Lievens, M. Pickavet, P. Demeester ( Ghent University), W. Derijnck, P. Van Hecke, J. Valcke and J. Torreele (Belnet)

· “GMPLS-Based Dynamic Provisioning and Traffic Engineering of High-Capacity Ethernet Circuits in Hybrid Optical/Packet Networks”, X. Yang (ISI), C. Tracy, J. Sobieski (University of Maryland), T. Lehman (ISI)

· “Control Plane for UltraScienceNet with Advanced Bandwidth Scheduling”, N. S. V. Rao, Q. Wu, S. M. Carter, W. R. Wing, R. L. Seagle (Oak Ridge National Labs)

18:30 – 19 :00 p.m.      IEEE TCHSN Meeting

19:00 – 21:00 p.m.      Dinner (Sponsored by Ciena Corporation)

Call for papers